Are you a fan?

29 Dec

…of ceiling fans??  I can honestly say, I am not.   The new house is actually making me think about this topic more than any normal being generally should.  With the house, we inherited a very nice ceiling fan in the living room and an older fan in the kitchen.  We have no central air (YET), so I imagine they prove to be very practical, however I’d rather not look at them!  My big issue is the living room fan.  Brand new with wall controls… and no light.  The ceiling in this space is less than 8′ and as you can see, the fan is a dark finish and hangs down over a foot.  In one of the smaller spaces in the house, the fan just closes it in even more!  I have a beautiful light in mind and will post pictures once I order and install it.

How do you feel about ceiling fans in design?  I’d love to hear your comments on the topic!

House pictures coming soon~ they’re currently being held hostage on my sisters camera…

4 Responses to “Are you a fan?”

  1. alleycatbabe 12.29.2010 at 10:39 am #

    I’m a fan of clg fans in bedrooms. They come in handy on hot nights when you’re trying to sleep. They also will help if you have a central air unit that isn’t as efficient at throwing the air around (like we had in Philly). They must have a light unless there is supplemental lighting. The ones with remotes are handy so that you can lay in bed & turn the light off without having to stumble in the dark. However, living room & kitchens I’m not such a fan of clg fans. As you said they’re too big, often ugly, & just get in the way.

    • vintageviolet 12.29.2010 at 10:43 am #

      I don’t disagree- if there was one in the bedroom, I think (although I would still get rid of it), I wouldn’t be in such a rush to replace it. With the living room fan, the second Hubby stands up to celebrate a sports play, hes going to twack his arms on it! Not practical!

  2. Sarah Peterson 01.07.2011 at 3:39 pm #

    You know, I never liked ceiling fans until I moved to Virginia. Then I discovered that in the summer, with no AC, they are a godsend! Of course, that was in an apartment with very lofty ceilings that could afford something dark hanging down a foot or two… I’d tend to agree with you though that it’s too much for a small room.

  3. Hayli 01.07.2011 at 7:39 pm #

    Ceiling fans are so ugly!
    All the time.
    When my husband and I were looking for houses he would always say “LOOK BABE IT HAS A CEILING FAN”
    I think nexxxxt.
    But in AZ they are very nice to have around and lower the electric bill by a lot.

Comments are closed.