Multiplying Space

26 Jan

4 feet of hanging space in the master closet was just not going to cut it.  What’s a girl to do?  Rip down some old trim and shelves (also causing some horsehair plaster to try and escape in the process), and install a closet organizing system complete with space saving (matching!) hangers.  I effectively changed 4 feet of hanging space into about 10 feet of hanging space.

BEFORE

AFTER

The circle hanger will hold belts and scarves once they get unearthed.

This is a happy closet and a breath of fresh air in a house currently piled with boxes.

3 Responses to “Multiplying Space”

  1. Becky 01.27.2011 at 9:22 pm #

    Do you love your new hangers? The closet looks awesome. Great job!

  2. Heidi 11.15.2011 at 10:16 pm #

    Your before closet looks just like mine does now! Actually, I’ve removed the old trim from my closet, patched the plaster, and painted . . . and now I’m ready for a closet system. Your closet looks fantastic . . . and the system seems to be supporting everything very well . . . even with the horsehair plaster walls. How did you attach the system to the walls . . . with toggle screws? Any suggestions you can share . . . I’m kind of afraid that once I get something up, if I don’t do it right, it will fall down once I add the clothes . . . and I so don’t want that to happen! Thanks for any advice! And good luck with the rest of your remodel . . . everything looks great!!

    • vintageviolet 11.16.2011 at 9:40 am #

      I couldn’t remove the original horizontal board (in the before picture) without totally ruining the wall, so I added another a few feet down to attach the closet tracks to. The 2×4 got lots of screws (just regular screws) to make sure that it was good and secure and spread out the load from the closet track. I hope that makes sense 😉 Good luck with your closet!

Comments are closed.