Chair Buyer’s Anonymous

6 Sep

I hope you had a fantastic weekend!

I had a great weekend with friends, family, and checked a few things off my To-Do list.  Most importantly, I got my tag- sale mojo back!  After weeks of disappointing tag sales filled with crap, I found a GEM!!

My name is Karen, and I have a tag-sale chair addiction.  Is there a support group for that?

This weekend’s fantastic find is a wrought iron and bamboo folding chair.  And it cost….. wait for it…..

$5!

I won’t even try to guess its vintage, but I know it’s old.  The tag sale that it came from was sooo cool to poke through- filled with tons of Asian antiques at my kind of prices (aka cheap).  The chair is in amazing condition aside from 2 cracked bamboo pieces on the seat.  Once I Gorilla Glue those sucka’s back together, the seat and back are going to get a fresh coat of paint.

Here’s where I’m looking for your input.  I’m torn on how I should paint it.  The wrought iron is staying untouched no matter what, so the question is: do I repaint the back and seat close to it’s current color and keep it as original as possible, or do I paint the back and seat a contrasting pop color?

Or…. do I throw all caution to the wind and NOT repaint it, just try and touch up the mended bamboo pieces?

Oh the possibilities!

One Response to “Chair Buyer’s Anonymous”

  1. Decor Girl (@TheDecorGirl) 09.07.2011 at 6:54 pm #

    Great chair! Not so sure about painting the bamboo in a way that wouldn’t peel off. If it’s just a occasional chair (charter member of occasional chair anonymous) and more for looks than usability – then I’d try doing what you think will look best Otherwise – in the natural mode it makes a nice sort of organic statement.

Comments are closed.