Behind the Objects: Getting Catty

22 Jun

In my last post, I tried to hammer home the concept of personalizing your space.  But what does that really mean?

In the land of design blogs, we talk a lot about things.  Furniture, art, accessories… material objects.  What really makes a home’s design special to the occupant, however, is the meaning behind the objects.

In this new series, I’ll be taking the time to celebrate the personal significance of the things I surround myself with.  The stories of my home.

Without further adieu (and in no particular order whatsoever)….

Object #1: Brass Cat

My parents came across this cat about a year ago while cleaning out my great aunt’s house.  She was, to put it nicely, a collector.  It needed a serious scrub, but what an outcome!  Maybe it’s because I dabble in being a crazy cat lady, I love this little guy.  So regal.

I still haven’t found the right spot for him yet (I really need to style some vignettes around this house), so currently he guards over our computers from his perch on the bookshelf.  I’m not sure of his age (certainly not new) or origins, but he feels like he has a story to tell.  Maybe it’s a story of my great aunt.

6 Responses to “Behind the Objects: Getting Catty”

  1. Revival Girl 06.22.2012 at 9:17 am #

    I couldn’t agree with you more — the story behind the object is way more interesting that the object itself. P.S. I love how your brass cat picks around the corner…so adorable!

    • Revival Girl 06.22.2012 at 9:18 am #

      PEEKS not picks (hahaha)!!!

  2. Katie 06.22.2012 at 11:13 am #

    He looks great peeking out from behind that painting! Lovely column idea.

  3. Mary Ann Ellis 06.22.2012 at 11:17 am #

    I love the theme of the new blog. I have many many objects that have stories behind them but I don’t have the decorator skills to know what to do with them. The objects are too special to just throw away. I’m hoping to soon be moving to MUCH smaller quarters and I’m going to have to really use my imagination to make this work. It’ll be important to find ways to incorperate all the special little things I don’t want to part with into my new small space. Maybe I’ll get some ideas in the new blog. If you have any good ideas about small spaces I’d love to hear them. I may be going from 5 big rooms to an efficiency apt.

  4. sarah good 06.22.2012 at 2:50 pm #

    This is the coolest idea for a series! The story behind meaningful objects is always fascinating to read. I love your brass cat!

  5. Sarah {Lacquer & Linen} 06.22.2012 at 3:09 pm #

    This is a great series idea. It’s always those sentimental things that we love most in our home. It certainly helps when those things are as adorable as that little cat!
    -Sarah

Comments are closed.