Winter Pinterest Challenge: Chair Sketch Art

27 Feb

I am now the proud owner of a Floor Nailer!

In other news, it’s Wednesday!  Do you know what that means??

It’s Pinterest Challenge Day!!

pinterest-challenge-banner

If you’re new to this blog, check out my previous challenge projects here.

When this latest challenge rolled around, I knew that I couldn’t take on any big undertakings (since I have my own collection of big undertakings over at Clark the Flip House).  After looking at my collection of pins, I knew exactly which one I wanted to attempt.

I love the informal feel of the sketch and the simple use of color.  So I had to try my hand at it.

polka dot chair

Naturally, though, I couldn’t stop there.  I decided the chair needed some friends.

chair sketches

The steps were very simple:

  • Use a pencil to sketch the desired chair- precision not necessary
  • When I was happy with the shape, I used a thin felt-tip pen to trace the outline.  Then erased the pencil guides.
  • Then I added color as desired.  Not too saturated, but a little pop of color/pattern in each.

I’m REALLY pleased with the way they came out.  I popped them into some frames I picked up on sale at Michael’s and hung them on my office wall (with 3m picture strips so I can change my mind on location if necessary).

chair frames

This collection adds a nice balance to this wall since to the right is a wall-mounted tv.  I must apologize for the lighting in these pics- it’s a dreary, rainy day here in New England and I was forced to turn on the lamps- boo.

office chair collection

So, what do you think of my new artwork?

I’m not worried about my computer blocking the art, since this is only a temporary home for the computer until I get my butt in gear and finish my secretary desk eventually.

Now that I have my picture ledge on the wall and these on the wall, my office is starting to feel like a finished space.  Yay!  Not quite finished yet, but definitely well on it’s way!

Go check out the Pinterest Challenge Projects from this season’s hosts:

Sherry’s Board and Batten

Katie’s Growth Chart

Megan’s Fabric Ottoman

Michelle’s Button Art

8 Responses to “Winter Pinterest Challenge: Chair Sketch Art”

  1. Caitlin @ Desert Domicile 02.27.2013 at 1:27 pm #

    You drew those?! WOW! You’re talented! You should offer them for sale 😉

  2. Carly G 02.27.2013 at 8:13 pm #

    I love chair art! GREAT idea to DIY some. I love those

  3. Sam @ The Junk House 02.27.2013 at 9:37 pm #

    You drew those?! I’m seriously impressed! They turned out great!

  4. Christine @ Casa-de-Christine 02.27.2013 at 9:38 pm #

    Very cute! Love this idea : )

  5. Stacey @ Likes to Smile 02.28.2013 at 11:22 am #

    First of all, the name of your blog is incredible!! I was hooked by the title! And this project is amazing! It is tres chic!

  6. Tiana @ muse-decor.com 03.02.2013 at 1:03 pm #

    They came out great! Wish I could draw like that.

  7. Amie M 03.04.2013 at 10:46 am #

    Very nice hand! I miss drawing by sight and making my take on them. You inspired me to take it up again! Very lovely illustrations.

Comments are closed.